First Nation of Na-Cho Nyak Dun’s Council

Governance Body of Na-Cho Nyak Dun

The Governance Body of Na-Cho Nyak Dun is composed of a constitutionally mandated elected body consisting of a Chief, Deputy Chief, four Councillors at large, a Youth Councillor and an Elder Councillor.  The Chief, Deputy Chief and the four at-large Councillors hold full-time positions with the First Nation while the Youth and Elder Councillor are on a part-time basis.  The mandate of Council is laid out in the Constitution, the Governance Act which has been passed by the General Assembly and their day to day operation is directed by the Council Governance Policy Manual which was adopted in 2006.

Council has been entrusted by the Citizens to carry out the business of the First Nation in a fair, responsible and ethical manner and to respect the traditions and values of the First Nation.  Their primary role is to plan, lead, organize and control the business of running the First Nation and these core purposes are laid out in their Governance Policy Manual.

The sole employee of Chief and Council is the Executive Director who has the main task of executing Council decisions through the Department Managers and for providing a venue for issues generated at the Departmental level to reach Council.  There is a small governance department which is also overseen by the Executive Director, which includes services that affect the government structure as a whole (see org chart).


The Central Administration of the First Nation of Na-Cho Nyak Dun rests in the Governance Department, which is overseen by the Executive Director.

The Governance Department is made up of all of the components that affect the functioning of the entire First Nation and includes the Facility Manager; the Finance, Implementation and Communication teams, as well as Human Resources, Administration, and Economic Development.

The Executive Director is the liaison between the Council and the Departments and also directly oversees the Governance Department and the Operations Director.  The Executive Assistant provides clerical support for the Executive Director and Council.

The First Nation of Na-Cho Nyak Dun is pleased to now be in their new facility, and for the first time in many years, the Government will operate out of one building.  The building is a state of the art facility located on a traditional site and houses the Government Departments, Council, the Elder’s Centre, and has a sizeable all-purpose meeting room as well as a kitchen and grounds.  The facility manager is responsible for the smooth operation of the building, the mechanical systems and is the supervisor of the janitorial staff.

The Finance Unit is composed of a Finance Manager who oversees the overall financial state of the First Nation.  This person is responsible for ensuring the integrity and accuracy of the NND financial statement, the quality and timeliness of financial reports, the development and maintenance of accounting standards, policies and procedures and, the preservation of historical records.

Also, in the Finance unit is the Payroll Clerk who is responsible for a range of payroll services for NND staff, social assistance, students, elders pension, Council and committees. Then there are the Accounts Receivable clerk who is responsible for invoicing for services rendered by the First Nation and the Accounts Payable clerk who is responsible for ensuring that the accounts of the First Nation are up to date and assists with travel arrangements.  There is also a Finance Assistant in the unit who is essential in supporting Finance staff as needed.

The Communications team is composed of the Information Systems Technician and an assistant.  The team is responsible for providing technical support and guidance for all NND staff in the use and maintenance of computer hardware and software; conduct assessments related to hardware and software as required and ensure that diagnosing, fixing and replacing of components occurs.

The Intergovernmental Affairs Manager leads the implementation team and is responsible for managing negotiations with various governments, First Nations, agencies and industries including the ongoing negotiation tables of the PSTA, GEB, IWG, TBA and AJA and other activities arising out of the Final Agreement and the Self Government Agreement.  The First Nation has several contractors working on these files whose reporting is coordinated by the Intergovernmental Affairs Manager.

The Economic Development Liaison Officer is responsible for facilitating community and economic development planning and initiatives.  The person in this position is also responsible for assisting local entrepreneurs in the development of business opportunities, for developing and maintaining a registry of available workers and liaising with industry regarding job opportunities.

The Main Office Receptionist provides the front line administrative support for the First Nation and receives, screens and forwards inquiries, mail and faxes to the appropriate departments.  This person also ensures that the central filing system is maintained.

The Human Resources Officer is responsible for planning, developing and implementing human resource policies, programs and services and to ensure that hiring, recruitment and worker retention is a priority.  They also help facilitate staff training and the development of training plans.

The Operations Director is responsible to the Executive Director and is the coordinator of the Departmental Managers ensuring that the delegated responsibilities, tasks and reporting occur in a professional and timely fashion.  The Operations Director works with the individual managers to determine timelines, work plan initiatives and in general, supervises the operations of the departments.

Infrastructure handles the construction of roads, administrative buildings, housing units for citizens and commercial buildings.

The water & sewer unit provides water and sewer haul to citizens and businesses throughout Mayo and surrounding areas, as well, the water technician ensures that the water treatment occurs regularly and to standard.


Governance Policy


Government Act

Committee Application Form

First Nation of Na-Cho Nyak Dun Organization Structure

Land Claims Documents

Na-Cho Nyak Dun Final Agreement
Na-Cho Nyak Dun Self-Government Agreement
Umbrella Final Agreement

Our Staff

Millie Olsen
Acting Operations Director – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 125

Human Resources
Human Resources – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 203

Annabelle Lattie
Accounts Payable Clerk- Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 210

Beverley Blanchard
Finance Manager – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 214

Carol Van Bibber
Records and Information Management (RIM) Coordinator – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 122

Eliza Moses
Records and Information Management (RIM) Technician – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 129

Ellenise Profeit
Executive Assistant – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 213

Halona Johnny
Receptionist – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 200

Karla Olsen
Payroll Clerk – Telephone: (867) 867-996-2265, ext. 231

Irene Johnny
Councillor – Telephone: (867) 867-996-2265, ext. 204

Barb Buyck
Councillor – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 215

Melynda McGinty
Accounts Receivable Clerk – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 211

Roberta Hager
Deputy Chief – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 205

Peter Chibuikem Idoko
Information Systems Technician- Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 124

Anne H. Tayler
Executive Director – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 209

Andy Lucas
Councillor – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 206

Effie Moses
Elders’ Councillor – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 145

Jackie Clarke
Elders’ Coordinator – Telephone: (867) 996-2265

Sharon A. Peter
Councillor – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 207

Simon Mervyn
Chief – Telephone: (867) 996-2265, ext. 208